SBS Clubs

Join SBS clubs header.png

United Nations-International Relations Club (UNIR)

Established in 1993/4 as the primary club for International Relation majors, UNIR is open to all students across the College of Social & Behavioral Sciences. It has been one of the most active clubs on campus sponsoring global awareness programs (lectures, small-group discussions, film showing, and the like).  Every year (usually in October), UNIR hosts an IR Open House. UNIR supports our participation in the Arrowhead Model United Nations (through recruiting, fundraising, mock sessions, etc.).  It also encourages students to study for and take the Foreign Service Exam.  Nearly every year, the club hosts at least one session with an invited expert to talk about working for the State Department and the Foreign Service Exam process. 
Meeting time: Contact club president for the latest dates
How to join: Contact club President Dikchit Parajuli at dikchit.parajuli@mnsu.edu or  or club advisor Dr. Battah at abattah@mnsu.edu
Contact: Dr. Abdalla Battah, faculty advisory, abattah@mnsu.edu
 

Pi Sigma Alpha - Upsilon Alpha Chapter

It's the nationwide honor society for students in Political Science. There are chapters at hundreds of colleges and universities nationwide.
Meeting time: Meetings as announced, usually Monday or Tuesday afternoons in weeks they occur.
How to join: Contact Dr. Fred Slocum, Chapter Advisor, frederick.slocum@mnsu.edu
Contact: Fred Slocum, faculty advisor, frederick.slocum@mnsu.edu

 

Turning Point USA Mankato

We are one of thousands of chapters across the country with the organization Turning Point USA. We strive to empower and educate conservative students across high school and college campuses across the country.
Meeting time: Every Tuesday at 7 p.m. in CSU 238
How to join: Contact Addison or Riley via email, direct message our Instagram or Twitter
Contact: Addison Rodel, addison.rodel@mnsu.edu or Riley Carlson, riley.carlson@mnsu.edu
Faculty advisor: Dr. Sue Burum, sue.burum@mnsu.edu
Social Media: Instagram: @turningpointmankato, Twitter: @TPUSAatMankato

 

Gender and Women's Studies Club

Gender and Women's Studies Club is a place for majors, minors and like-minded individuals to come together as we discuss and produce activism, education and service.
Meeting time: Every other Tuesday at 5 p.m. May change in the Spring semester.
How to join: Contact maryelizabeth.cronin@mnsu.edu for more GWS club information
Contact: MeMe Cronin, maryelizabeth.cronin@mnsu.edu
Faculty advisor: Dr. Laura Harrison, laura.harrison@mnsu.edu
 

Sociology Club

This is a student-oriented group that includes undergraduate and graduate students. The major activities of this group are related to the memberships' participations in professional conferences such as those of the Sociologists of Minnesota and the Midwest Sociological Society Conference. Occasionally, the club engages in fundraising activities and the organization of paper bag talks.
Meeting time: Varies
How to join: From classmates and class announcements
Contact: Shayla Schumacher, Shayla.Schumacher@mnsu.edu
Faculty advisor: Paul Prew, paul.prew@mnsu.edu
 

Psi Chi/ Psychology Club

Research is a large part of what we do as a club because it is a great way to gain research experience if you are planning to apply to graduate school. Last year we began research on how COVID-19 impacts students and will be continuing this research in the upcoming weeks.
Meeting time: We meet every other Tuesday at 6 p.m. in Armstrong Hall. Meeting times next semester will likely change.
How to join: Email: psichi@mnsu.edu or DM on Social Media
Contact: psichi@mnsu.edu
Faculty advisor: Dr. Emily Stark emily.stark@mnsu.edu (Spring 2022) / Dr. Karla Lassonde  karla.lassonde@mnsu.edu (Fall 2022)

 

History Club

History Club is meant for anyone that is interested in learning and talking about the subject of history. Members are encouraged to share their perspectives and interests on historical topics and meet new people that share their interest of the past. The Club has free pizza at most club meetings where we work on a range of historical projects over the semester, along with games nights, watching movies, and more. The purpose of the History Club is to promote the study of history by encouraging research, good teaching, publication of materials, and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians; to provide ideas outside of the classroom for students interested in historical study and debate; and to expand opportunities for students. The Minnesota State Mankato History Club offers opportunities to network with other students in your field of interest, participate in historical field trips, build your resume, and many other opportunities. Membership is open to all students.
Meeting time: Club meetings every Tuesday from 5-6 p.m. Armstrong Hall Room 15.
How to join: Contact club president Sage Grothe at sage.grothe@mnsu.edu or social media officer Eli Braun at eli.braun@mnsu.edu to be added to the email list, or visit our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/MNSU.History.Club/
Contact: Sage Grothe, sage.grothe@mnsu.edu
Faculty advisor: Chad McCutchen, chad.mcctchen@mnsu.edu / Kyle Ward, kyle.ward@mnsu.edu
Follow: Facebook @MNSU.History.Club, Instagram: @mnsuhistory, Twitter: @mnsuhistory