shortcut to content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato


Page address:

Student - Faculty Collaboration

The School Psychology Doctoral Program is based on a Junior Colleague Model, in which students are treated as professionals-in-training who collaborate with staff to create a quality training experience.


Small Cohort Sizes

All classes are small to maximize the mentoring relationship and support the cohesion of student cohorts.




Petersen-Brown, Shawna, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Admissions Coordinator

Ph.D., 2013, University of Minnesota – Twin Cities (APA-Accredited, NASP-Approved)

Phone: (507) 389 1353


Website: Shawna Petersen-Brown

Kevin FilterFilter, Kevin, Ph.D.


Practicum Coordinator

Ph.D., 2004, School Psychology, University of Oregon (APA-accredited, NASP-approved)

Phone: (507) 389 5828


Website: Kevin Filter

Carlos PanahonPanahon, Carlos, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Program Director

Ph.D., 2005, School Psychology, Syracuse University (APA-accredited)

Phone: (507) 389 2815


Website: Carlos Panahon

Brown, Jeffrey, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Internship Coordinator

Ph.D., 2016, School Psychology, Tulane University (APA-accredited)

Phone: (507) 389 5755


Website: Jeffrey Brown




Photo of students talking and smiling during class

Admitted class of 2011

  • Lindsey Finch - Minnesota Valley Education District, St. Peter, MN

Admitted class of 2012

  • Kelsey Stangler - Intern, Elk River, MN
  • Samantha Steinman, Psy.D. - School Psychologist, Mankato, MN
  • Melissa Engel - Minnesota Valley Education District, St. Peter, MN
  • Dorothy Lipski - Intern, Worthington, MN

Admitted class of 2013

  • Rachel Burlet
  • RaeLynn Lamminen
  • Sarah Marsh
  • Cassandra Schreiber

Admitted class of 2014

  • Marissa Hamilton
  • Mary Jane (MJ) Harty
  • Jannine Ray

Admitted class of 2015

  • Andrew Gelbmann
  • Megan Johnson
  • Ashlee Lundberg
  • Maggie West

Admitted class of 2016

  • JulieAnna Bowen
  • Jennifer Nelson
  • Carrington Riss
  • Ashley Williamson
  • Jessica Wiswell

Admitted class of 2017

  • Kennedi Alstead
  • Nickolas Campa
  • Iwalani Dela Paz
  • Lars Olson
  • Austin Rogers

Admitted class of 2018

  • Trae Boldthen
  • Madeline Cordle
  • Kierstin Keller
  • Elizabeth Kinsey Hawley
  • Caitlin Moen
  • Haley Peterson