People

Page address: http://sbs.mnsu.edu/geography/people/

Faculty & Staff


Don_Friend

Donald Friend
Professor and Chair

Teaching and Research Interests: Mountain Geography, Geomorphology, Physical Geography, Research & Writing

Office: MH 206A
Phone: 507-389-2618
Email: don.friend@mnsu.edu



 

Cynthia Miller

Cynthia Miller

Associate Professor

Teaching and Research Interests: Historical Geography, Environmental Geography, Environmental Hazards

Office: AH218-B
Phone: 507-389-2700
Email: cynthia.miller@mnsu.edu



 

Martin_Mitchell

Martin Mitchell

Professor

Teaching and Research Interests: Cartiographic Theory, Historical Geographies, The American West, Physical Geography, Natural Resources

Office: AH 212-E
Phone: 507-389-1610
Email: martin.mitchell@mnsu.edu



 

Jose_Javier

Jose Javier Lopez

Professor

Teaching and Research Interests: Economic Geography, Social Geography, Rural Geography, Latin-America

Office: AH 218-I
Phone: 507-389-1890
Email: jose.lopez@mnsu.edu



 

Fei_Yuan

Fei Yuan 

Professor

Teaching and Research Interests: Remote Sensing, Geospatial Technologies, Geographic Information Systems, East-Asia

Office: AH 212-J
Phone: 507-389-2376
Email: fei.yuan@mnsu.edu



 

Forrest_Wilkerson

Forrest Wilkerson

Associate Professor, Graduate Program Co-Coordinator

Teaching and Research Interests: Biogeography, Weather/Meteorology, Periglacial Geomorphology, Physical Geography

Office: AH 212-G
Phone: 507-389-2824
Email: forrest.wilkerson@mnsu.edu



 

 

Ginger_Salmon

Ginger Schmid

Associate Professor & Graduate Program Co-Coordinator

Teaching and Research Interests: Soils Geomorphology, Soils Science, Physical Geography

Office: AH 212-G
Phone: 507-389-2824

Email: ginger.schmid@mnsu.edu



 

Rama_Mohapatra

Rama Mohapatra

Assistant Professor

Teaching and Research Interests: Geographic Information Systems, Urban Geography, Geospatial Technologies

Office:  MH 222F
Phone: 507-389-6223
Email: rama.mohapatra@mnsu.edu



 

Woo-Suk_Jang

Woo Jang

Assistant Professor

Teaching and Research Interests: Geographic Information Systems, Transportation Geography, Geospatial Technologies

Office: MH 222D
Phone: 507-389-1466
Email: woo-suk.jang@mnsu.edu



 

Phillip Larson

Assistant Professor and Director of Earth Science Programs

Teaching and Research Interests: Fluvial Geomorphology, Arid Geomorphology, Landscape Evolution, Geography of Iceland

Office: MH 222G
Phone: 507-389-1259
Email: phillip.larson@mnsu.edu; strathterrace@gmail.com



 

Rick Moore

Adjunct Instructor

Teaching and Research Specialties: Geographic Information Systems, Water Resources

Office: TS 184
Phone: 507-389-5492
Email: richard.moore@mnsu.edu



 

Carol Reedstrom

Office Manager

Office: MH 206
Phone: 507-389-2617
Email: carol.reedstrom@mnsu.edu



 Graduate Assistants

Zachary Zoet

Masters Student

Research:

American Diplomatice Security, Geographic Information Systems

T.A.:

Introduction to Physical Geography

Office: AH 11B
Email: Zoet, Zachary Alan <zachary.zoet@mnsu.edu>



 

Brandon Bohks

Masters Student

Research:  

My research focuses on utilizing Remote Sensing and Geographic Information Systems to evaluate organism and environmental interactions.

T.A.:
Introduction to Geographic Information Systems
Elements of Geography

Office: AH 14
Email: Bohks, Brandon Kenneth <brandon.bohks@mnsu.edu>



 

Andrew Brick

Masters Student

Research:

Transportation Geography

T.A.:

Transportation Geography

Office: AH 14
Email:Andrew Brick <skybrick736@yahoo.com>



 

No Photo

Carson Smith

Masters Student

Research:

Fluvial Geomorphology, Geomorphology, Quaternary Geology

R.A.:

Minnesota Department of Transportation Geoarcheology Database Project

Office: AH 14
Email: Smith, Carson Anthony <carson.smith@mnsu.edu>



 

Johnathon Salfer

Masters Student

Research:

Geographic Information Systems, Computer Science

T.A.:

Programming for GIS

Office: AH 14
Email: Salfer, Johnathon Thomas <johnathon.salfer@mnsu.edu>



 

Matthew Lassonde

Masters Student

Research:

Urban Planning, Planning Intern for the City of North Mankato

T.A.:

Intermediate GIS

Office: AH 14
Email: Lassonde, Matthew Scott <matthew.lassonde@mnsu.edu>



 

Devon Libby

Masters Student

Research:

Fluvial Geomorphology, Human-environment interactions

T.A.:

Introduction to GIS

Office: AH 14
Email: Libby, Devon James <devon.libby@mnsu.edu>



 

Tobias Walther

Masters Student

Research:

T.A.:

Cartographic Techniques

Office: AH 14
Email: Tobias Walther-António <derbojas@gmail.com>



No Photo

Kyle Mullen

Masters Student

Research:

Remote sensing to analyze mountain pine beetle infestations in pine forests of Western United States

T.A.:

Remote Sensing

Office: AH 14
Email: Mullen, Kyle Edward <kyle.mullen@mnsu.edu>